Quadruple-double-triple-whatamacallit stitch?

Thank you so much for this chart, I always manage to muddle through using US terms but it will be great to have a constant reference guide.

forever in fibre

So you’re crocheting along happily, following your chart, and suddenly you’re faced with something like this:

oefher.001I mean… seriously… what are you suppose to do with that? We could unhelpfully call it a ‘long stitch’, but unhelpful name is unhelpful (and yes, of course, long stitch is long).

Don’t despair, the solution is really very simple. All you need to do is count the number of hashes in the symbol (not including the top of the T), in this case it’s nine. Then you know that you have to wrap the yarn around your hook nine times before you insert your hook into the stitch below. It’s that easy! 
esw.001And it’s not just long stitches, this is a triple crochet, it has two hashes, and to make it you wrap the yarn around the hook twice before inserting it into the stitch below.

View original post

12 thoughts on “Quadruple-double-triple-whatamacallit stitch?

  1. *Wisher* May 12, 2014 / 08:35

    heehee.. yup.. i was about to say to wrapped the number of yarns according to the strike out.. this could be a symbol like doing some bullion knot kind of crochet work.. correct me if i’m wrong. 😉

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com May 11, 2014 / 18:53

      It is not so bad honestly, in comparison to knitting where you have a whole needle full of stitches to deal with, when crocheting you only have one at a time.

      Like

  2. Sanderella's Crochet May 9, 2014 / 22:08

    I will be certain to share this…I’m sure that has been confusing for many chart readers! Thank you for sharing! Sandy

    Like

      • Sanderella's Crochet May 10, 2014 / 04:09

        Yes! I don’t read charts personally, but I need to learn one of these days! Happy Mother’s Day!

        Sandy

        Like

      • thegrangerange.wordpress.com May 10, 2014 / 14:30

        Don’t know about you but I learn best through trial and error, sometimes with more error than I would like!!

        Like

      • Sanderella's Crochet May 10, 2014 / 15:45

        Yes! I am very patient when I crochet. If I have to start over many times….I will until it is right!

        Like

I would love to hear from you

