Floral Cushion Work in Progress

The pattern for these gorgeous little flowers was found purely by accident one day whilst perusing Ravelry, and what a great find, aren’t they cute. It’s not easy to show in the images but the way they are made gives them a great depth and texture. They are great for using up scraps too, I am using Rico Essentials Soft Merino Aran scraps that I have left from making our daughters blanket last year.

Floal Cushion Yarn Basket

The mistake I made was not following the instruction in the pattern about joining the flowers together as I went, I just merrily went on my way making them all individually and pinning them onto my cushion. I wanted to be free to arrange and re-arrange the colours. No problem, or so I thought. I would simply sew them together at the end. Oh dear, I definitely do not recommend this, it is taking me ages!

Floral Cushion Pinned

It will be worth it in the end I am sure but it is not a mistake I would make twice. They do look good but as you can see I do have a way to go yet.

Floral Cushion Joining Flowers

The pattern is by Adi Keren available on Ravelry here there is such a lovely story behind it too, Adi along with other members of the family made flowers then Adi brought them all together to create a gorgeous blanket for her nephew. She explains that between them they used scraps in blues and greens in a mixture of yarn types and weights, this added even more texture.

33 thoughts on “Floral Cushion Work in Progress

  1. Irina July 19, 2013 / 21:38

    Really really cute! 🙂

    Like

  2. bcre8v2 July 11, 2013 / 21:00

    Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed hearing about your experience. The flowers are beautiful!

    Like

  3. Toadstool Tales July 10, 2013 / 08:16

    I love the cushion … I made puff flowers and used them for as waistcoat – only to be worn in winter! Didn’t think about a cushion … Hmmm feel a project coming on! Thanks for sharing. Emma x

    Like

  4. Sonja Milojevic July 10, 2013 / 08:15

    The flowers are gorgeous! It will be the pretties cushion ever! I know it’s a lot of work, but it will be so worth in the end. 🙂

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 10, 2013 / 12:52

      I know you are right I just need to keep at it and get it finished. I loved you journals, they are beautiful, I will be visiting your etsy shop come christmas shopping time for sure. You are one clever lady.

      Like

  5. lovelucie1 July 9, 2013 / 12:33

    Reblogged this on Love, Lucie and commented:
    I’ve pinned this to my crochet Pinterest board. Definitely one for the future

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 9, 2013 / 20:23

      Pleased you love it, I do too even though I should have joined the flowers together as I made them and sewing them together now is challenging it is worth the effort.

      Like

  6. lovelucie1 July 9, 2013 / 12:29

    I simply love this. Definitely pinned to my crochet to do board!

    Like

  7. empress27 July 9, 2013 / 09:12

    I. Love. Those. I love the colours in them, and you have sewn them together beautifully. I think I’ve found what I want to make next…

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 10, 2013 / 22:48

      Well what can I say, it is taking me long enough but thank you I am so pleased you like them. The fleeces you are washing look amazing, I can’t wait to see what happens to them next.

      Like

      • empress27 July 10, 2013 / 23:47

        Aww thank you, they are taking foreverrrrrrrr! I finished one today and the bag they were in before looks gigantic filled with all that fluff. Only another six to go…. *groan.* Looking forward to spinning them though 😀

        Like

  8. Queen and Fox July 9, 2013 / 09:01

    Good luck with your cushion! It looks divine, so it’s worth it 🙂

    Like

  9. teabeaknits July 8, 2013 / 23:17

    Gosh this looks sumptuous – the flowers look so plump and pretty!

    Like

  10. Glenda July 8, 2013 / 22:13

    You sure have your hands full there – ! The work looks adorable, though.

    Like

I would love to hear from you

