Bright and Bold Baby Blanket

Bright and Bold Baby Blanket It has been an absolute pleasure making this colourful baby blanket and so quick too.

Using the same simple pattern I made 5 squares in each colour from my pay day stash, which incidentally is almost gone now.

Baby blanket bright squareThen laid them out random style following no pattern what-so- ever, so satisfying. Sorry about the colours, I am having a bit of a camera issue this the evening. this is a mixture of bold and bright colours mixed with a pale pink, blue and beige to provide a contrast.

Baby blanket bright 3

I had almost enough squares but not quite so I laid the balls of yarn out in place of the remaining squares to help me decide which colours I needed to finish.

I wanted to try one of the borders from my new book Around The Corner Crochet Borders by Edie Eckman. It is a fabulous book, not only is it packed with a varied range of borders it also explains how to count stitches around you work to make up your own border.

Bobble edging 1

I settled for number 132 on page 269, I liked the way the bobbles reflected the holes formed by the pattern in the squares.

Bobble edging 2

Highly recommend this book if you are a blanket or cushion cover maker.

18 thoughts on “Bright and Bold Baby Blanket

  1. Toadstool Tales June 26, 2013 / 22:25

    Loving this blanket … So pleased to have found your blog … In the words of Arnie ‘I’ll be back’! X

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 1, 2013 / 20:34

      So pleased you visited, I look forward to seeing you again soon. I took a peek at your site too and loved the circles blanket you are making, looking forward to seeing the finished item. It’s good to meet new friends.

      Like

  2. Lori @ fivefeetrising June 15, 2013 / 03:03

    I am loving that border! Thanks for the book recommendation – sounds like a great one, especially for the crocheter who loves to work without patterns (include me in that group!).

    Like

  3. weaverwomyn June 12, 2013 / 22:35

    Love those colors! That is going to be one lucky baby.

    Like

  4. Eden's Lace (@edenslace) June 11, 2013 / 10:07

    That looks SO CUTE! Love the idea of randomly setting out the colours, too often the mental energy of trying to keep colour patterns straight turn a baby blanket into a kingsize duvet in terms of time spent! XD

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 12, 2013 / 21:55

      I know what you mean, I have made blankets for each of our four children and have extra squares from the girls blankets because I could not decide on the pattern! Planning on turning these extras into cushions to match the blankets.

      Like

  5. creative pixie June 10, 2013 / 22:36

    This is a really beautiful blanket. Does it have a little recipient to go to?

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 12, 2013 / 21:57

      Thank you, no recipient yet I just fancied making a colourful baby blanket after the two I did previously in pastel shades. I am making a colourful stripy giraffe to go with it but as I don’t have a pattern it is taking a bit of figuring out.

      Like

  6. angelphilipp June 10, 2013 / 22:06

    Such a pretty blanket!

    Like

I would love to hear from you

