The Colours of Spring

I have been very busy behind the scenes these last couple of weeks but as promised here is my lovely stash of yarn.

Stylecraft DK YarnsAs you can see I have already been using some of it, I got busy with the blues first………………….

Stack of Squares………………and made this lovely stack of squares for the outer edge of a baby blanket in cool minty blues and greens.

Edge SquaresI wanted to mix things up a bit and as I love granny squares so much.

Baby Blanket Granny SquaresThen these little beauties for the centrepiece.

Baby Blanket Flower SquaresHere is how I joined them all together.

Baby Blanket 2Now to get on with a matching one in Pinks!

45 thoughts on “The Colours of Spring

  1. Tania November 25, 2014 / 22:31

    Hi,
    This is such a gorgeous blanket. Can I please have the pattern for the centrepiece? Also, which weight yarn did you use? How much yarn did you need (how many g?). I hope I can make something similar 🙂

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com December 2, 2014 / 19:40

      I am so happy to hear that you are going to make a blanket too. I wish now that I had written out the pattern but sadly I did’t. I will email you the pattern for the centre squares and will happily answer any queries you have. I used Stylecraft Special DK, this is a a really nice soft yarn that I use for lots of projects. From memory I didn’t use a full ball of any of the colours so one of each of your chosen colours should be fine. I hope this information helps.

      Like

  2. dianer September 5, 2014 / 03:11

    Is it possible to get the pattern for this? it’s beautiful, i’d love to try and make one.

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com September 23, 2014 / 22:10

      Thank you, I am honoured that you would like to make one too, sadly I never wrote a pattern for these blankets but the squares are mostly granny squares which I am sure you can do. i have written the pattern for the centre squares that i can email to you if you would like.

      Like

      • dianer September 25, 2014 / 02:49

        that would be great, thanks

        Like

  3. erdeiemi January 19, 2014 / 08:39

    I love these colours. Very nice blanket.

    Like

  4. nadia November 14, 2013 / 05:50

    Hi,
    it’s gorgeous !!!!
    can you share the pattern for little beauties for the centrepiece?
    thank you so much.

    Like

  5. Chloe June 14, 2013 / 16:24

    HI, I am a beginner in crocheting, I would like to ask what’s the size of your granny squares and your blankets ? is it a 4 ply yarn? what needle size in mm that u use? I love your colour palette too and so as your blog! Thanks for taking time answering my question!

    Cheers
    Chloe

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 14, 2013 / 19:47

      Welcome to the world of crochet, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. The squares on this blanket are 4 inch squares worked in Stylecraft DK using a 4.50mm crochet hook. So pleased that you liked my blog and hope that you will come again soon. If you have any more questions please feel free to ask, I am happy to help if I can.

      Like

  6. weaverwomyn June 7, 2013 / 06:55

    What a beautiful blanket. Those colors really look like spring! Thanks for visiting my blog. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Like

  7. lisasff June 1, 2013 / 12:52

    that’s absolutely lovely! I have a square afghan in the works too, though I never thought about mixing squares like this!

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com May 31, 2013 / 21:58

      I crocheted them together by putting the right sides together and slip stitching through the outer loop of the V shape at the top of each square. I like doing it this way as each square has a defining line around it on the right side. Hope you understand what I mean. Maybe I could do a tutorial if it would help. Do you make blankets too?

      Like

      • nanacathy2 June 1, 2013 / 16:20

        I have never made a blanket of squares to join together.I am doing a CAL at the moment and I know how I am going to join that one, but I fancy doing one for my grandchild to be so was really admiring yours. A tutorial would be fantastic please.

        Like

      • thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 1, 2013 / 18:57

        I am picking my daughter up from uni this weekend but I will try and do it in the next couple of weeks if thats ok. Hope you share what you decide to do, I would love to see. When is your grandchild due? I am very envious as I am still waiting for one to appear on the horizon. I keep asking but none of mine are ready yet!

        Like

      • nanacathy2 June 2, 2013 / 16:53

        The expected grandchild should be with us sometime in October- be Number 3 for me- it’s great! I’d love to do something by then! As I have three sons and two grandsons I am thinking PINK!

        Like

      • thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 3, 2013 / 09:25

        All babies/children are wonderful but it would be nice for you to work up something in pink, thank you for visiting and stay in touch.

        Like

  8. RoseRed May 30, 2013 / 22:58

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my scarf, I love these colours together and the finished blanket is so lovely.

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com May 30, 2013 / 07:35

      Thank you so much, I have really enjoyed making it. I have just about finished the pink one too so will be posting that shortly.

      Like

  9. Joyful Mama Designs May 26, 2013 / 15:18

    Oh wow! LOVE this granny square blanket! Love the colors and your layout 🙂 Beautiful.

    Like

  10. Vix May 22, 2013 / 09:48

    It’s so lovely! I’m a bit granny square obsessed too but don’t much enjoy blankets.Very well done!

    Like

  11. Poppy May 21, 2013 / 23:29

    This is lovely! Beautiful colours. And the matching one in pink… Is someone having twins?!

    Like

  12. creative pixie May 21, 2013 / 22:34

    Beautiful design

    Like

  13. angelphilipp May 21, 2013 / 22:28

    How pretty!

    Like

I would love to hear from you

