Surf and Seaside Ripple Pattern Afghan

I have told you before about when the children were small and we always had a Poorly Blanket, they would snuggle into it on the sofa when they were feeling unwell or tired. Now they are grown I am making a blanket for each of them so they can have their very own ‘Poorly Blanket’s’ in their respective homes.

The boys both surf so I wanted to make a throw that would remind them of their time on the beach and in the sea so I decided on a ripple or wave pattern and picked a range of blues and greens to reflect the colours of the sea and the shore.

As they are both 6 foot something I wanted their blankets to be big enough to cover their feet so decided to make them 5ft by 5ft so through trial and error worked out that the starting chain needed to be 185 stitches long. Here it is after the first few rows, it already reminds me of the sea lapping at the shore.

Wave Blanket - the early stages.

I get so excited at this stage, I just love picking out the colours and visualising how I want it to look, playing with the colours and seeing how they flow and contrast with each other.

Wave Blanket - in the making

I only ever start with half a plan in my head as the best part of a project for me is developing my idea as I go along selecting the colours randomly.

Wave Pattern Blanket - Hues of the Coast

As you will see on closer inspection there is no format to the colour changes, I tend to pick them as I go along but not forgetting to keep the balance of the lighter and darker shades and the contrasting of the colours.

I went for a walk to the seafront to take a photo of the blanket against the backdrop of the sea and could not resist this shot of the brightly painted chalets with the warm winter sunshine bouncing off their doors. Ahhhh it brings joy to my heart, I do so love living near the sea.

Seaside Chalets

I have edged the boys blankets with two rounds of simple single crochet using a dark blue. I did try a few different edgings but found that this simple look suited the project best creating a simple frame for the waves.

I hope the boys might keep their blankets in the car so they can snuggle into them to warm up after a days surfing.

Wave Pattern Afghan Blanket

I am very pleased with the end result of this project, it was rather a long one as I have made two of these, one for each of my lovely chaps. The pattern and the colours really do invoke memories of sea and sand.

Hint and Tips on Blanket Making

I have learnt one or two little things on this journey of blanket making that I would like to share with you.

IMG_5517

1. When you are doing the chain to start your project use markers every 25 or 50 stitches so you can check your count if you are interrupted.

2. Use a size larger hook to make the chain than you intend to use for the main body of the blanket, I often find that the chain is a little to tight and tends to draw the work in at the bottom otherwise.

3. I like to pick my colours randomly as I go along, I take a ball of each colour and play with the colours until I am happy with the effect then arrange them on the table where I work and work through them one by one. It is great fun setting out the colours as you go and helps maintain the interest and excitement of the project. Just make sure that you get a balance of lights and darks along the way.

Inspiration for this blanket was from Attic 24 so don’t hang around, go and have a look!

Now to get on with the girls blankets……………

19 thoughts on “Surf and Seaside Ripple Pattern Afghan

  1. Linda Cullen July 7, 2013 / 22:05

    What brand of yard and colors were used to make this afghan???

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 7, 2013 / 23:00

      The yarn is Rico Essentials Soft Merino Aran, colours 26, 29, 33, 36,37, 38, 42, 49, 50. It really is lovely yarn to work with and so soft.

      Like

      • Linda Cullen July 8, 2013 / 13:53

        Thank you for your quick response.

        Like

      • Linda Cullen July 8, 2013 / 13:57

        What size crochet hook and how many chain stitches?

        Like

      • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 8, 2013 / 23:13

        I wanted the finished size to be approx. 60 inches x 60 inches so I started with a 185 chain count using a 4mm hook. If you have made blankets before you may already know this but I always crochet the starting chain on larger hook as it can be a bit tight. For the Wave Blanket I started with a 5mm hook, it all depends how firm your tension is. Hope you share the photos, I would love to see your blanket. If you want any more information just let me know.

        Like

      • Linda Cullen July 9, 2013 / 14:52

        The Rico Essentials Soft Merino Aran has been discontinued and only two of the color #s are available. If you could give me the name of each color #, then I will try to find another Merino yarn to use to make this afghan. Thank you.

        Like

      • thegrangerange.wordpress.com July 9, 2013 / 20:49

        I have done a search and found the following store that has stock of many of the colours I used http://www.woolwarehouse.co.uk/essentials-soft-merino-aran I made 2 of these for my 2 boys and used a selection of these colours 26 Denim, 28 Jeans, 29 Ocean, 33 Light Blue, 36 Royal, 37, Navy, 38 French Navy, 39 Midnight Blue41 Eucalyptus, 42 Khaki, 49 Petrol, 50 Pistachio. Good luck I hope you manage to buy this yarn as it is really lovely although I am sure there will be a great alternative.

        Like

      • Linda Cullen July 9, 2013 / 23:15

        WOW!!! Thank you so much!!!

        Like

  2. notthebelleoftheball May 7, 2013 / 18:31

    I’m inspired by this ripple blanket, your selection of colours is perfect. This just may be the blanket pattern I was looking for. Thank you for posting such wonderful pictures.

    Like

  3. windsorknits December 31, 2012 / 05:24

    I love this stitch. And thanks for tip #2. I always find myself making the chain too tight, but I am going to try this on my next project.

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com December 31, 2012 / 08:24

      Thanks for stopping by, I have really enjoyed using the wave pattern too. Let me know how your next project works out using tip no. 2, so pleased it was helpful.

      Like

  4. Verónica December 30, 2012 / 18:04

    The blanket looks marvelous and I love your choice of colors and the way you went about selecting them. Just lovely.

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com December 30, 2012 / 18:58

      Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind words, I think half the fun of a project is choosing the colours.

      Like

  5. hazelinbloom December 30, 2012 / 17:54

    I was very impressed to read about your blanket and to see the finished article, such an amazing choice of colours. Your presentation is amazing you must have gone to so much trouble to take so many interesting pictures which really complimented the blanket.

    Like

    • thegrangerange.wordpress.com December 30, 2012 / 18:00

      Thank you for your kind comments, I love taking the images to show the journey of the project. I am very impressed with your squares and look forward to sharing them on the blog soon.

      Like

I would love to hear from you

