Lois Daykin Stripy Crocheted Cat Pattern

Here it is, my lovely Stripy Cat, another project from Lois Daykin’s Baby Crochet book. I did not quite follow the guidance for the features but think he worked out rather cute in the end. Although I have to admit I cannot make up my mind about the whiskers.

  • Should they stay?
  • Should they go?
  • Should they be sewn flat onto his face?

I have used some of the yarn left over from the Blooming Flower Cushion as I had lots of colours and plenty of bits and pieces that could be put to great use on this project as it doesn’t take too much of any of the individual colours.

I really love this colourful crochet Stripy Cat, I cannot decide whether to make another one in different colours.

He sits so nicely.

And can be rather playful and cheeky too!

Please find a link to this fabulous book http://www.amazon.co.uk/Baby-Crochet-Designs-Babies-Months/dp/1904485871 . Hope you enjoy it as much as I have. And let me know what you think about the whiskers?

 

11 thoughts on “Lois Daykin Stripy Crocheted Cat Pattern

  1. Mj September 17, 2012 / 21:29

    I’m trying to make this same cat out of the book. For some reason the upper body isn’t coming out right. It is making a tube. Ami doing this wrong??

    Like

    • thegrangerange September 18, 2012 / 17:34

      Sorry to hear your Stripy Cat is misbehaving. I am away on holiday at the moment but will try and look tomorrow as I have the book with me. It should be forming a shell type of shape rather than a tube.

      Like

      • Mj September 21, 2012 / 20:27

        I finished her! Thank you so much! I will send you a photo. I also made the booties with the teddy bear faces. I will send a photo if those as well! Thanks so much for getting back do fast. I’ve been on bedew at for 12 weeks and still gave a couple more! It was great to finish this!

        Like

      • thegrangerange September 22, 2012 / 17:45

        So pleased to hear you got your Stripy Cat finished. I am interested to see how you did the face as I deviated from the pattern but am not sure about my whiskers, I tried them flat to the face to start with but they did not look right so I cut them loose. I have done the Teddy Bear in blue you can see him here https://thegrangerange.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/teddy-bear-for-a-baby-boy-from-lois-daykins-baby-crochet-book/ and the boots to match for my colleague at work, they are so cute. Look forward to the pics!

        Like

    • thegrangerange September 19, 2012 / 13:51

      I hope you find my latest post useful, please send me a link to a photo of your finished Stripy Cat, I would love to see him.

      Like

  2. decowallstickers August 22, 2012 / 06:23

    I think it definitely needs them but maybe sitting flat on the face?

    Like

  3. Poppy August 21, 2012 / 20:01

    I love this cat! The colours look great – I like how bright they are to add to the playfulness of his character. Likewise, I think the whiskers do the same so I would keep them as they are. Cheeky 🙂 As for making another one, do it!

    Like

    • thegrangerange August 21, 2012 / 21:42

      So pleased you love him in all his colourful stipiness! Thank you for your comments about his whiskers too!

      Like

    • thegrangerange August 21, 2012 / 21:22

      Thanks for your comment, pleased you like him. What do you think about the whiskers?

      Like

I would love to hear from you

